IMAGE Three Clans

Turtle, Wolf and Bear Clans of the Oneida Indian Nation.


The Clans Of The Oneida Nation

Turtle, Wolf and Bear

The Oneidas are a matrilineal society – clan and Nation Membership all come from the mother.

The Oneidas have three clans – turtle, wolf, and bear.

• Turtles teach patience and the importance of never giving up. Turtles are seen as strength and solidarity, old and wise, and are well respected.

• The wolf teaches the importance of using your ears and being watchful. They embody a strong sense of family.

• Bears are gentle and strong. Bears show that it takes more strength to NOT raise your hand to strike, compared to the impulse to strike.

Most Popular

More Latest News