U.S. Treaty With The Six Nations (Treaty of Canandaigua), 1794


1794 Treaty of Canandaigua

U.S. Treaty With The Six Nations, Signed by President George Washington

1794 Treaty of Canandaigua

The one promise the Oneidas received from the federal government was through the Nov. 11, 1794 Treaty of Canandaigua, which was signed between the United States and some nations of Haudenosaunee Confederacy. One of the paramount issues addressed by the treaty was that the United States acknowledged the lands reserved to the Oneidas and others in the confederacy. Within the lines of this treaty the United States and Oneida Nation agree to their boundaries and commit never to interfere with each other’s land:

“The United States acknowledges the lands reserved to the Oneida… to be their property; and the United States will never claim the same, nor their Indian friends residing thereon and united with them, in the free use and enjoyment thereof …”

Full text version of the Treaty of Canandaigua

Most Popular

More Latest News